Orpheus BannerExchange
Orpheus BannerExchange

Musik Werbenetz - www.musica.at

Musik
Noten & mehr

Hilfe Emagic System Overload


Musiksoftware Forum » Sequenzer - Cubase - Cubasis - Logic » Ältere Beiträge 4 » Hilfe Emagic System Overload
« Zurück Weiter »

Autor Beitrag
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Ricardo
Veröffentlicht am Sonntag, 24. Februar 2002 - 22:53 Uhr:   Schnellansicht    IP-Adresse sperren (Nur für Moderatoren)

Hi alle
wer kann mir helfen?
ich arbeite mit Emagic Logic Platinium 4.7
einer Yamaha SW1000XG
der Rechner Pentium 500Mhz 100Mhz Bus IDE schnelle Platten und über 350 MB Hauptspeicher

Nun bearbeite ich mit Logic wavespuren die ich vorher mit XGWorks erstellt habe.
Leider bekomme ich aber sehr schnell (in abhängigkeit von den Effekten so bei ca 7 spuren und 3 Effekte per Spur (auch EQ oder Gainer dabei))
die Meldung:
PC AV
System Overlaod
The audio engine was not able to process all
required data in time (-10011)

Ist denn Logic mit den paar Aufgaben schon überlastet????
kann ich durch bessere Audiotreiber oder Einstellungen im Audiobereich noch was rausholen?
Ich wäre über brauchbare antworten sehr dankbar denn so kann ich einfach nicht weiterarbeiten.

vielen Dank im voraus Ricardo
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Armin
Veröffentlicht am Montag, 25. Februar 2002 - 03:17 Uhr:   Schnellansicht    IP-Adresse sperren (Nur für Moderatoren)

Hallo,

Logic ist nicht überfordert, aber Deine Audio
Hardware ... ;-). Erste Frage: Ist die Platte für
die Audio Files eine separate Platte ohne
Anwendungen oder Betriebssystem drauf?
Wenn ja, sind alle Treibereinstellungen so
wie sie sein sollen. Wenn ja: siehe Liste ...


====================================
====================================
=
Windows Audio Recording Optimizations.
Win 95/98/98SE/ME

Many of these have been gathered over the
past 3 or 4 years, others have
been arrived at through trial and error.
-standard disclaimer- Use at your own risk!

(Basics) For all versions of Windows.

* WinME specific.
** See VIA chipset tweaks at end of file.

1. Turn off auto-insert notification on all
CD-CDR drives.

2. Disable any screen savers.

3. Disable the energy saving features (sleep
modes) on monitor and hard
drives.

4. DeFrag your hard drives.

5. Limit your graphic card's bit depth to 16-bit.

6. Remove or disable programs running in
the background.
After booting the system use Ctrl-Alt-Del and
check the task list.
Best case scenario is to only have
"Explorer" running.
Virus checkers, schedulers, task
monitors,..etc..etc are a no-no!
Some hardware (MIDI Timepiece for one)
installs software that runs in
the system tray. Better to remove this and
create an icon, running the
program only when needed. I have Systray
disabled on my system.
If preferred, Ctrl-Alt-Del can be used to quit
tasks before each audio
session.

7. Disable System Sounds.
They can hog the Soundcard output(s) thus
preventing audio Apps from
using them. Go to Start / Settings / Control
Panel / Sounds /Multimedia.
Select scheme "No Sounds". Choose

8. Depending on the motherboard's chipset,
USB may present a problem. If
you're not using USB disable it. Check your
BIOS and see if there's a
disable/enable toggle. If not, go to Control
panel / System / Device
manager and scroll down to USB.
Select properties and select "disable in this
hardware profile".


9. Try not to install any software other than
that which you need for your
Audio work. You can always create another
profile in Windows for other
uses. Microsoft Office 2000 in particular has
been known to cause problems.

10. Disable Effects. Location: Control Panel /
System / Display.
Select "Effects" Tab....... shut them all off!

*11. ME/98SE? Disable Automatic Updating.
This prevents Windows from trying to
find updates for itself if you use the internet.
It also stops it asking
you annoying questions. Go to Start /
Settings / Automatic Updates / and
disable Automatic Updates.

*12. WinME Disable system RESTORE.
Location: Right click on "My Computer",
select properties.
Select "File System" then "Troubleshooting"
tab.
Disable System Restore is at the bottom.

*13. Add the following line to your System.ini
file so it looks as follows:
[386 Enh]
ConservativeSwapfileUsage=1

This makes the system use RAM more
often rather than the Virtual Memory.
- Note: Do not use this option if you have
less than 128MB of RAM
installed.
- Note #2: I've never used this one mainly
because I've limited the size of
my swapfile to 128 megs, -see below-.

No disk compression (on any drives)
No RAM doubling software.


Note: All of these are not necessary...
however, the above
list goes a long way in helping Windows run
efficiently.

====================================
====================================
=====

(Controlling the Windows Cache Systems)

Set up a permanent swapfile.
-Note: This is a personal preference, many
decide to let Windows manage the
swap file. I prefer to have minimal disk access
and as my system is used
mainly for audio, a permanent swapfile suits
my needs.

Go to control panel / performance / virtual
memory and disable it!

Reboot and defrag your system hard drive.

Reboot, go to control panel / performance /
virtual memory and select
"let me specify my own memory settings."

You can use any amount (up to 2.5 times the
size of your RAM),
however, it is recommended that the smallest
amount you can get away with
be used, 128Megs is a good place to start.
Set both, minimum and maximum values the
same.
Ok, that done, reboot again.
Your system drive will now have a permanent
swapfile usually located in
the root directory of your system drive.

=================

Some have recommended turning off the write
behind cache, this is
one I've never tried as most of the recent audio
software seems to bypass
the write behind cache.

=================

The Windows read cache (RAM CACHE or
VCACHE)

This setting is found in the
Windows/System.ini file

WIN_98/ME differs from earlier versions of
Windows in that it can execute
data/programs stored in the VCACHE.

There's been a lot of discussion on the size of
the VCACHE settings but
everyone agrees the VCACHE needs to be
limited in size when using audio
(DAW) software.

Basic theory: The VCACHE is the amount of
RAM Windows allocates for storing
data that is currently being used or recently
accessed. To see the VCACHE in
action simply open and close the same
program a couple of times. The second
and third time the program is opened,
execution is instantaneous as the
program data is being held in the VCACHE.
=================
I experimented and ended up with this setting
on a system with 128
Megs of RAM, again this entry is found in the
system.ini file. Look for a
blank [vcache] header and enter the Min/Max
values directly below it.
Double the Max cache if you're running with
256Megs or more.

[vcache]
MinFileCache=4096
MaxFileCache=24576

=================

PCI (AGP) cards hogging the bus.

Still encountering noise when scrolling
windows or clicks and pops
in audio files (often introduced when a
Window scrolls or redraws)

1. Drop the video acceleration down a notch or
two.
(If you're not having problems leave it at max
acceleration.)

2. See if the video drivers offer an option to
disable bus_retries.

Note: New systems often have BIOS settings
that offer extended
control of the PCI bus. ** (See VIA chipset
tweaks at the end of this file)

=================

For EIDE user with DMA/UDMA

Check "hard disk controllers" in the Device
Manager.

Some versions of Windows failed to install
bus_master drivers when
an Intel Pentium processor was not present,
even if the mainboard
was fitted with Intel controller chips.

Regardless of the processor and controller
chips, bus-mastering drivers
need to be installed and DMA enabled for
EIDE drives to be used as
audio drives.

It is also best to have a dedicated hard drive
for audio, this drive should
not be sharing the IDE bus with an older drive
or a CD-ROM-CDR.

=================

* = WinME specific


**VIA Chipset Tweaks

Use Latest 4 in 1 drivers. (WinME's default
drivers do not need to be replaced)

Update your motherboard's BIOS.

Some Via Chipsets have been problematic
when used for audio recording.
This may be caused by the BIOS defaults
selected by the Motherboard
manufacturer. Check your current BIOS and
see if a selection for "Master
Read Cache" is available. This is the one that
can help eliminate bus noise
(crackles & pops) when enabled.

Suggested settings.

MasterReadCache = Enabled
Latency Timer = 0

Delay Transaction = Disabled/Enabled
(if you have pops/crackling try the other
setting.)

If the Master Read Cache is not available in
your system's BIOS
and audio recording/playback is still
problematic you might want
to visit:

http://www
.viahardware.com/


Under "Downloads" you will find a link to
WPCREDIT.
This is a program that can modify BIOS
settings on the fly.
(providing your VIA chipset is supported) Read
up on it.
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Fatkey
Veröffentlicht am Montag, 25. Februar 2002 - 06:42 Uhr:   Schnellansicht    IP-Adresse sperren (Nur für Moderatoren)

Hallo

Das liegt an deiner Rechnerkonfiguration. Hole dir bei www.tascam.com den PC optimize guide runter. wenn du diese änderungen vorgenommen hast, funktionerts perfekt. Audiodaten und Betriebssystem auf einer Platte ist bei sieben spuren sicherlich noch nicht das Problem. Ich kopiere jeweils meine Projekte die immer aus mindestens 16 stereospuren und sicherlich 10 Ekkekten bestehn als Backup von der Audio Disk noch auf meine Platte C. Ich kann die songs genauso gut von meiner Betriebssystem Platte abspielen wie von meiner Audio Platte ohne System Overload .....

Gruss
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Robmoc
Veröffentlicht am Montag, 25. Februar 2002 - 08:03 Uhr:   Schnellansicht    IP-Adresse sperren (Nur für Moderatoren)

@ Ricardo:

Ich hatte auch dieses Problem (einige Threads weiter unten).

Bei mir wars hauptsächlich, daß schlicht und einfach der Direct Memory Access (DMA) in der Systemsteuerung > Geräte > Festplatte nicht angehakt war!

Nachdem ich das angehakt hatte (danach Neustart) war das Problem prompt erledigt.

Gruß,

Rob